Guide · Automation
AI and workflow automation for small accounting firms and bookkeepers.
Published
Most small accounting firms and bookkeeping practices aren't deciding whether to use AI anymore; the survey data says they already have. The real questions are which tools actually save time, which plan tier is worth paying for, and what breaks when a firm automates the books without also fixing the workflow around them. This guide walks through the adoption numbers, the QuickBooks Online plan tiers and their built-in AI, the receipt-capture and spend-management layer (Dext and Ramp), and the practice-management side that most listicles skip.
How accounting firms are actually using AI right now
A 2025 Intuit-commissioned survey of 700 accounting professionals found that 95% of firms adopted some form of automation technology in the past year. The top uses weren't exotic: payroll processing (47%), accounts payable and receivable (46%), and data entry and transaction processing (43%) led the list. That's the honest starting point for anyone asking whether AI is relevant to bookkeeping. It's not replacing judgment calls; it's absorbing the repetitive parts of the job that used to eat hours every week.
Adoption is also compounding. Sixty-four percent of firms said they plan to invest in or upgrade AI over the next year, up from 57% in 2024 and 48% in 2023. Forty-six percent of accountants report using AI daily, nearly double the 28% daily-use rate among small businesses generally. The people closest to the books are adopting faster than their clients are, which tracks with another finding from Intuit's Small Business Insights survey: small businesses that work with an accountant were 59% more likely to use AI at least weekly than those without accountant support.
The reported upside is broad. Eighty-one percent of accountants said AI positively impacted their productivity, and 86% said it reduced their mental load on day-to-day tasks. After adopting automation, respondents reported near-unanimous perceived gains in accuracy (98%), efficiency (97%), and client service quality (95%). Eighty-two percent said their firms have already built, or are planning to build, proprietary AI tools. None of that means automation runs itself; it means the category has moved past the experimental phase for most firms.
QuickBooks Online: which plan actually fits a bookkeeping practice
QuickBooks Online is the default ledger for most small firms, and its plan tiers determine how much automation you actually get, not just how many users you can add.
| Plan | Price | Key limits/features |
|---|---|---|
| Solopreneur | $20/month | Built for one-person businesses; single-user use case |
| Simple Start | $30/month | 1 connected bank account, 2 invoices/month without Payments, top 3 reports, 250-account cap |
| Essentials | Not stated in current source | Up to 3 users, Accounting AI categorization, Payments AI, 250-account cap |
| Plus | Not stated in current source | Up to 5 users, inventory with FIFO, 65+ reports, 40 combined classes/locations, 250-account cap |
| Advanced | Not stated in current source | Up to 25 users, unlimited accounts, unlimited classes/locations, AI-driven insights, cash flow forecasting |
Essentials and Plus both include an Accounting AI feature that automates categorization workflows to keep books current, and a Payments AI feature that flags inconsistent payment patterns to help draft reminders. Advanced goes further, positioned by Intuit as the tier for firms that need automation and real-time insight, including AI-driven insights, batch transaction tools, and cash flow forecasting. As part of a pricing update, Advanced was also set to bundle Bill Pay Elite, described as a $540 per year value, and industry-specific tools for construction and professional services, described as a $900 per year value.
One caveat worth flagging to clients: Essentials, Plus, and Advanced pricing was scheduled to change for renewals on or after August 1, 2026, while Free, Lite, Ledger, and Simple Start pricing was to hold steady. If you're quoting wholesale, multi-client billing through QuickBooks Online Accountant, confirm current renewal pricing directly in the platform before committing a client to a number.
Receipt capture and spend automation: Dext and Ramp
QuickBooks and Xero handle the ledger, but the manual bottleneck for most bookkeepers is upstream: getting receipts, bills, and card transactions into the system correctly in the first place. Two tools address that from different angles.
Dext's AI reads submitted receipts, bills, and invoices and assigns the correct accounts; the vendor's own listing states its accuracy at 99.9%. Once connected to Xero or QuickBooks, the chart of accounts, suppliers, and tax rates sync automatically, so a bookkeeper isn't re-keying vendor names or tax codes for every document. Dext offers a 14-day free trial before requiring a subscription, which is enough time to test it against a real client's document volume before committing. Dext Commerce, a companion product, automatically fetches itemized sales data from e-commerce platforms like Shopify and publishes it to Xero or QuickBooks, which matters for firms serving retail or e-commerce clients where sales data would otherwise come in as a single lump deposit.
Ramp works further upstream, combining corporate cards, expense management, bill pay, and accounting automation into one system, with the card program acting as the entry point most businesses actually adopt. Its mobile app lets employees pay with a corporate card, submit expense reports by photographing a receipt, and see policy and transaction status in real time. Ramp integrates with QuickBooks, Xero, and NetSuite, and applies AI-powered transaction categorization to cut down reconciliation work. For a bookkeeper managing several clients' expense reports by hand, that integration is usually the bigger time saver than the card itself.
Neither tool replaces the review step. Both speed up intake and first-pass categorization; a bookkeeper still needs to check the output before it hits a client's books, especially in the first few months of using a new tool.
Running client collaboration through Intuit's Accountant Suite
For firms managing multiple clients, the practice-management layer matters as much as the ledger. Intuit's Accountant Suite includes a free Core plan with no contract and the ability to downgrade at any time, which is a reasonable starting point for a small practice testing the waters.
Client-collaboration seat limits scale with the client's own QuickBooks Online plan: 1 billable user and 2 connected accounting firms on Simple Start, 3 users and 2 firms on Essentials, 5 users and 2 firms on Plus, and 25 users and 3 firms on Advanced. Clients can invite an accountant to collaborate for free on any paid plan, and that access can be revoked at any time, which is worth knowing when a client relationship ends.
A feature called Books Close, aimed at accountants closing multiple clients' books, was set to move to a paid model: $8 per onboarded client per month for firms with up to 50 clients, or $6 per onboarded client per month for firms above that threshold, starting January 21, 2027. A higher Accountant Suite tier aimed at efficiency and streamlined operations at scale is priced at $149 per month starting January 20, 2027. Firms with a growing client roster should model these per-client costs against their current billing rates before they hit those thresholds, not after.
What breaks when firms automate books without redesigning the workflow
The AICPA's National MAP Survey identifies change management for technology and AI adoption, not software cost, as a top long-term issue facing accounting firms. That finding matches what shows up in practice: the tool is rarely the failure point; the handoff between tool and human is.
A few concrete failure modes. Categorization AI trained on general patterns can misfile client-specific edge cases, such as a contractor's tool purchases or a nonprofit's restricted funds, unless someone builds a review step into the monthly close and not just at year-end. Connecting too many apps to QuickBooks Online, which supports over 300 third-party integrations, without documenting which app owns which step, creates duplicate entries or silent sync failures that nobody notices until reconciliation. Staff who weren't trained on why an AI flag exists, like a Payments AI inconsistent-pattern alert, tend to either ignore it or act on it without judgment; a Thomson Reuters survey cited by AICPA found two-thirds of finance professionals expect AI to have a significant impact on their profession within five years, but impact and readiness aren't the same thing.
This is the same problem covered in more general terms in the guide to choosing between an agency and building automation in-house: tool selection is the easy part of the project; the workflow redesign around who checks what, and when, is the harder part.
When automation is not worth it yet
A solo bookkeeper serving one-person clients doesn't need QuickBooks Advanced's 25-user, unlimited-chart-of-accounts tier. Solopreneur at $20/month or Simple Start at $30/month cover single-user, single-bank-account work already, and paying for Advanced's automation features when there's no multi-user workflow to automate is wasted spend.
Report needs deserve a check before picking a tier on price alone. Simple Start caps out at three reports: profit and loss, balance sheet, and account quick report. Firms that need more will hit that wall well before they'd naturally justify Plus's library of 65+ reports, so map out actual client reporting requirements before defaulting to the lowest-priced plan.
The account cap matters more than it looks. Simple Start, Essentials, and Plus all cap at 250 combined chart-of-account entries; only Advanced removes that ceiling. A firm managing a complex multi-entity client will hit that cap and have to migrate mid-engagement, which is more disruptive than paying for the higher tier from the start.
Where to start: a practical rollout order for a small firm
Start with the highest-volume, lowest-judgment task: receipt and bill capture. That's where Dext or a comparable OCR tool pays for itself fastest, because the accuracy claim is verifiable and the trial period is short enough to test against real client volume. Next, tackle categorization inside QuickBooks Online itself if you're already on Essentials or Plus; the Accounting AI feature is already included in the subscription, so there's no new tool to evaluate.
Only after those two are running cleanly should a firm look at spend management platforms like Ramp or a practice-wide integration layer connecting QuickBooks to a CRM or ticketing system, which is the kind of cross-tool workflow covered in the guide to AI automation for small businesses. At that stage the harder work is usually mapping who reviews what and when, not picking another subscription. AI Automation engagements typically start with a free audit that maps that review chain before any building begins.
Common questions
Related reading
A grounded breakdown of automation pricing for small businesses, useful context before budgeting a bookkeeping automation project.
Zapier vs Make vs n8nCompares the automation platforms firms use to connect QuickBooks, Dext, and Ramp to the rest of their stack.
Workflow Automation servicesHow Async Automations builds and maintains client-specific workflow automation, starting with a free audit.
Start an intakeBegin the process of scoping an automation project for your firm.
See what one automated workflow would save you.
We connect the tools you already pay for, put AI on the tedious parts, and keep a human approving anything that matters. Start with a free audit: we map where the hours leak and which automation would pay off first.